Friday, 11 November 2016


Yew (Taxus baccata)

Yew is a shrub or small tree. Big old tree can growing up to 15 meters, but it is rare. Yew was used to make bows and instruments. Large trees were in Europe cut for wood.

Yew provides food for birds. His red fruits are edible and tasty. People can also eat the fruit of yew, but you must spit out black seed from the middle of the fruit. It is important be careful not to chew seeds. One chewed seed will not kill you, but the whole plant is poisonous. Wood, needles, twigs of yew are poisonous, seeds are also poisonous. The red part of fruit is the only eatable part of the yew.

You can also swallow the seed, if you do not chew it. Not chewed seed is resistant to digestive enzymes. Seed go not damaged by the whole entire intestine.

Red part of fruit, is called cover, and it is tasty, red, sweet, slightly fruity aroma. If the fruit is large and growing at sun light it can have a very pleasant taste.

Yew fruits appear attractive especially in late autumn, when there are no other fruits in the fields and forests.

Bon Appetit!

Saturday, 5 November 2016


 Is it possible to freeze and effective unfreezing of the human body?

The main problem is that the water in the cells of the human body freezes in the form of crystals. The crystals damage the cells and structures within cells. Cells burst. There is no method to prevent the precipitation of crystals of water so far. If the cells burst, our medicine does not know how to repair such damage. It will be so for a long time, unfortunately. If someone froze, then we can not go to defrost.

But I'm optimistic message. Just being in the cold if you do not freeze, causing the brain reduces the need for oxygen so that it is possible to restore to life, even after quite a long time. Longer than those famous three minutes, in which it is necessary to restore circulation to an unconscious person.

I hope that this knowledge will never be needed.

Tuesday, 1 November 2016


The oat is naturally gluten free.

Why we can hear that popular oat contain gluten?

Commonly used oat contains some wheat. It is a reason.

Oat seed is similar to wheat seed. It is hard to notice difference and separate it. It is much more easer for millet and buckwheat seed. They have got different seeds.

There are 3 ways of contamination of oats with wheat:

  1. It is impossible to gather all seeds. Some of them are left on the field and grow next year, contaminating a new species of grain.
  2. Porridge are produced in the same mill as popular wheat flour. The fine dust from wheat can pollute oat.
  3. Combine harvester and other machines are the same for all grains. One kind can pollute another.

To have pure oat you should buy certified oats from certified gluten-free farms. On these farms are planted only gluten-free grains, used special separate machine and mills. Gluten grains cannot be planted for 20 years before certification. Price of such oat is much bigger....

How much of wheat is in oat? Is it necessary to buy pure oat?

I do not know how much.
I use common cheap oat, in spite of my intolerance for wheat and not have sings of intolerance, this is enough pure for me. If your allergy is strong, it is possible that you should buy pure certificate oat.

(foto from wikipedia)